Living with chronic fatigue

Hello everyone, welcome back to my blog.

I hope you’re all doing well.

Today I have a disability related post for you and it concerns living with chronic fatigue.

I follow quite  a few bloggers who are visually impaired like myself and who raise awareness of visual impairment along with other disabilities but I haven’t come accross many bloogers who talk about chronic illness (chronic fatiuge in particualar) therefore I thought it would be a good idea for me to share my story with you.


In this post i wil be sharing my symptoms with you along with the diagnosis process and also I’ll share how i deal with this disability in my day to day life.

So I hope this post will be of interest to you and let’s get started.

Symptoms and diagnosis

I’ll start by talking you through the symptoms I suffered from and how i was diagnosed with this particular condition.

The diagnosis process for myself was particularly long. I had been suffering with severe tiredness for many years and had previously been tested for underactive thyroid and coeliac disease which both came back positive. But even after being diagnosed with both these conditions which meant I had to take one tablet daily and also going on a gluten free diet I was still suffering from extreme tiredness and i also felt constantly weak and light headed (which I still suffer from). I was missing a lot of school and nothing i did to try to improve my symptoms seemed to work. Following a number  of different blood tests my pediatrician finally came to the conclusion that I was suffering with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

Unfortuantely there is no cure for this condition, it is just a matter of balancing things out.

When I was first diagnosed I was unaware of the fact that this condition is also considered to be a disablity but now that this has come to my attention i do let people know about it (if it is neccesssary) because it can mean that i do struggle sometimes.

Treatment and dealing with the condition

As I mentioned above there is no treatment available for Chronic Fatigue which is extremely unfourtunate because living with this condition can be very challenging.

It affects people in many different ways and some who sufffer with the condition might be able to manage it better than others.

I persoanally have both good and bad days.

Following my dignosis my pediatrician arranged an appointement for myself with a physiotherapist who would discuss ways to deal with the condition and who would help me in the best possible way  to deal with the disability from my day to day life.

I’ve atteneded quite a few sessions over the past couple of years and I now have to complete daily excercises just to keep that balance. These excersises might consist of some stretches or just some light jogging on the spot. I have to complete these daily no matter how i’m feeling. My physiotherapist also told me too take things slow and to build up on certain tasks and this will allow me to become stonger. One thing she suggeted was that I could go for a ten minute walk each day and build up on that once I felt stronger, somedays I do find it hard just to complete that 10 minute walk but other days I can complete much more than that. But my physio also told me that when i’m having a good day i still shouldn’t push myself to hard as that could affect the results on the following day and i might not be able ot do anything following a good day if i’ve tried to complete too much things at once just because I felt good (I hope that made sense!). My physiotherapist describes this as a ‘boom and bust situation’.

I have missed out on many opportunties due to my chronic fatigue because I haven’t felt strong enough to do the things i want to do. I have missed many days of school due to feeling exhausted and light headed but this is something that i’m trying to work on and i believe that i am finding that balance ever so slightly.

I’m not going to lie, living with this disablitiy is challenging as I said but at the end of the day it’s just another hurdle I have to face and ‘Life’s problems wouldn’t be called hurdles if there wasn’t a way to get over them’.

I hope you all enjoyed today’s post and that some of you found it of interest. I hope it helped you to learn more about chronic fatigue. Do let me know if you have any questions as I would be happy to answer them.

Thank you all so much for reading. I hope you all have an amazing week xox

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Living with chronic fatigue

  1. Pingback: Chronic Fatigue/M.E Awareness week | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

