The best things about being visually impaired

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing well.

Today I thought I’d share  with you my favourite things about being visually impaired.

Now it might sound absolutely insane that I were to say there are good things about being disabled but it’s true, disability doesn’t just consist of negativity. We can all choose to be positive and having a disability shouldn’t stop anyone from living a positive and happy life.

My blog is somewhere I like to spread positivity and that is one of the reasons I want to share the best things about living with a visual impairment rather than dwelling on the negatives.

Some people seem to think that living with a disability instantly means that person leads a negative and un-happy life but in most cases this is not the case. I want to tackle the stigma surrounding disability and I’d like to make people realise that your disability doesn’t define you and it can’t stop you from being happy.

I hope you all enjoy today’s post and lets find out what my favourite things about being visually impaired are.

IMG_1826

1. Meeting amazing people/new friends

Being visually impaired has resulted in me meeting some truly amazing people (both on and offline). I have made some great friends (who are also visually impaired) that i would have never of met if i didn’t live with this disability. The people I’m talking of are truly inspirational and i love talking to them. It’s nice to know that you’re not alone in the situation and that other people feel the same as you do. I am eternally grateful for the people i have met due to my disability.

2. Braille

If you are completely unaware as to what braille is then all you need to know is that it is a way of reading and writing for blind/visually impaired people. It is a pretty amazing concept that allows someone to read with their fingers! As I am not completely blind I don’t use braille as often anymore but a couple of years ago I completed all my GCSE exams through the medium of braille due to a deterioration in my vision. I have now learned braille in three different languages which I guess not many people can say. I always enjoy telling people about braille as they are always intrigued by it. Braille is an amazing skill to have and I am very lucky to have learnt it.

3. Proving people wrong

Now this might sound like a mean thing to say but proving people wrong (especially when you’re visually impaired) is a great feeling. There are many misconceptions surrounding the topic of being blind or visually impaired and people seem to think that us disabled people cannot complete a certain task because we can’t see to do so, but in fact we have learnt to adjust our lives in order to complete these tasks that people assume we can’t do and when they realise that we can actually do things ourselves it is always satisfying to see/hear their reaction.

4. Great hearing

This might not be relatable to every visually impaired person out there but i personally have very accurate hearing due to my vision not being as strong. Now it doesn’t mean that if you can’t see that your other senses magically improve because that is certainly not the case. Having sight loss means that I depend more on my hearing therefore it is much more accurate and it means that I can hear things much better than others as I depend more on my hearing due to the fact that my eyes don’t work as they should.

5. Positivity/motivation

Being visually impaired has definitely given me more strength and motivation. It has made me a more positive person and has influenced on the perspective I have on life. Yes it can be hard sometimes but there is nothing I can do about my disability and therefore I have to accept it because after all it is a part of who I am. Living with sight loss has motivated me to go out there and achieve what I want to achieve in life and to show people that I can do so even though I do live in this visual world as a severely sight impaired person.  My strength/positivity/motivation has definitely become more apparent in the last couple of years and I’m glad that I can say that I don’t allow my disability to influence on the way I go about life. I do have my down days as does any other human being on this planet but i am proud of the fact that I can say that I am quite a positive person and that I don’t let my disability define me and who I want to become.

Well that’s it for today’s post. There are much more points that I could have included  in this post but I didn’t want to make it too long so do let me know if you’d like another post similar to this one.

I hope you all enjoyed today’s post and please do comment with any feedback you might have.

Remember to always think of the positives in every situation, I know it can be difficult sometimes but it is possible. You can lead the life you want to no matter what and don’t let anything stop you from achieving what you want in life.

I hope your week is going well, thank you so much for taking time to read this post and be sure to come back next time to join me in My Blurred World. xox

8 thoughts on “The best things about being visually impaired

  1. Pingback: My top tips for coping with disability | My Blurred World

  2. Pingback: Things you need to understand about sight loss | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

