April Q&A

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing well.

Since I celebrated my one year blogiversary this week I thought I would write a Q&A for you all. In my opinion this is a great way to interact with you all and it gives you the opportunity to ask me questions that you may have been wanting to ask for a while, it’s just the perfect opportunity for you to get to know me a little better.

I asked on my instagram account (@myblurredworld) and here on my blog for some questions you might want to ask me and I recieved a good response.

But without further adieu lets get started.

  1. The first question comes from Soph here on WordPress and she asks : Best skin tip?

One piece of advice that I would give to everyone is ‘less is more’ when it comes to skincare. It’s important that you let your skin breathe and it’s defnintely beneficial to use less products as your skin won’t thank you if you overload it with products. Another tip that I recommend is drinking enough water. I know every single beauty blogger out there says this but it’s honestly so important as you need to keep yourself and your skin hydrated.

If you want to hear more of my skin related tips then you can find them in my ‘All things skincare‘ blog post that I published a couple of weeks ago.

 

2. This next question also comes from a fellow blogger, eviewonderland, and she asks : If you could design your own makeup product what would it be?

Now I had to think long and hard about this question but I finally came to the conclusion that i would love to create my very own eyeshadow palette. Why? Well I believe that this would be a very fun product to design and in my opinion it sounds much more exciting to think of creating and using your very own eyeshadow palette than it would to create your own concealer, wouldn’t you agree?

 

I recieved the following questions by my lovely followers over on instagram.

 

3. @thoughfultashh asks : What is your favourite blog post you’ve written?

That’s a difficult one to answer as I love so many blog posts that I’ve written but I think one of my favourites has to be a recent collaboration that I did with Holly from the blog ‘Just your avergae blind girl‘. We created a TAG all about the daily struggles of living with a visual impairment which was called ‘The VIP daily living TAG’. We tagged a number of other visually impaired bloggers to share their answers also and I’ve loved the response we’ve recieved. As you may know, one of the main reasons I started this blog was to raise awareness of visual impairment therefore creating this TAG was very important to me and it’s amazing that everyone else is taking part also to raise awareness of sight loss.

 

4. @mypastelpage asks : What is the first thing you do in the morning?

This does sometimes vary but normally the first thing I do is change  into the clothes I want to wear for the day, following this I will go downstairs and make myself some breakfast. I’m thinking of writing a ‘morning routine’ post so do let me know if you’d be interested in that.

 

5. @simplyxalice asks : How did you grow your blog and what made you start your blog?

I’ve briefly mentioned above why I started my blog but to recap, I started my blog in the hope of tackling the stigma that surrounds disability (focusing on visual impairment), but alongside this I wanted to share my passion for beauty and fashion as it is something i really enjoy writing about. In terms of growing my blog, I don’t have a specific technique that I’ve used to grow my audience. It was never my aim to gain as many readers as possible, I’ve just been very lucky in the sense that people have taken the time out of their day to click that ‘follow’ button and to read my posts. I do howevre include ‘tags’ on my posts in the hope of reaching out to more people but I don’t do this in the hope of gaining followers, I do this in the hope of raising awareness of disability in attempt to make people interested in the subject.

 

6. @louise.megan_ asks : Which reading format do you find easier, large print, braille? What are your tips for teens who are blind and are doing their GCSE’s?

I currently find large print to be the most accessible format for myself but when I sat my GCSE’s I completed all my exams through braille as I had a major deterioration in my vision. I currently use the format of large print as i find that reading braille can be very exhausting for me personally and I strongly believe in reading in large print whilst my vision is at it’s best, by ‘best’ i mean that it’s still quite blurry but in the sense that i can still access large print. When it comes to tips for blind teens sitting their GCSE’s, it’s difficult to know what to say. Everyone’s situation is different therefore my way of working might be completely different to other visually impaired people. The only thing that I would tell you is to remain calm, I know it can get frustrating sometimes when you can’t see to revise like everyone else but I promise you that you can do just as well as them if not better! Never let your visual impairment stop you from achieving what you want in life. Yes, GCSE’s can be stressful and difficult and living with a visual impairment in addition to this can make things much harder but it doesn’t mean that you can’t conquer those diffiulties. Completing all my GCSE exams through braille was extremely daunting for me but everything turned out fine and I achieved the grades that I desired which goes to show that having a visual imapirment doesn’t  mean that you can’t achieve what you want to achieve.

 

7. @pastel.perfectx asks : tips for saving money?

I guess everyone has their own little ways of how they like to save money but one thing I would recommend to you is not to spend money on unnecessary things, by that I mean don’t spend money on items you really don’t need, yes it can be tempting sometimes when you see an item that you really want in a shop window but if you’re attempting to save money then it’s best to find what helps you to resist that temptation. Another method I would recommend is if you have a bank account then maybe create a savings account and a spending account, this just allows you to put all the money you don’t want to spend to one side and therefore you won’t feel tempted to go and spend every single penny you own.

 

8. @lovetiax asks : How do you motivate yourself to revise?

I just think of what I want to achieve in the future, if I want to pursue a career in my desired field then revision is key. Your school life is only a short period of time, it goes by so quickly and once you leave school, whether you want to go to university or if you want to apply for a job, you will most likely need to inform people of the grades you achieved in your GCSE exams and your A Levels, it reflects much better on you if those grades are high, and you must revise to achieve your desired grades, if that wasn’t obvious enough! I guess what I’m attempting to say is that I just think of  the future, yes revision can be time consuming and I’m sure it’s not the brightest moment of your day but revising is key to achieve good grades which can then reflect on your future path.

 

9. @idkrhixo_ asks : What is your favourite makeup brand?

To be honest with you I don’t have one brand of makeup that I stand by. I use products from numerous brands and wouldn’t be able to tell you which brand is my favourite.

 

10. @enlightgirl asks : How do you like to relax?

I personally just like to take some time to myself and listen to music and maybe use the occassional face mask.

 

11. @bands.guitar.music.stuff asks : What music are you listening to at the minute?

I currently have a number of favourite songs, here are just a few :

  • Lush Life – Zara Larsson
  • 7 years – Lukas Graham
  • Aftertaste – Shawn Mendes
  • Crazy – Shawn Mendes
  • Kid in love – Shawn Mendes
  • Light it up – Major Lasor
  • Hello – Adele
  • When we were young – Adele
  • Worry – Jack Garrett
  • Kathleen – Catfish and the bottlemen
  • Dangerous Woman – Ariana Grande
  • Swings and Waterslides – Viola Beach

 

12. @ellaxo_playfordxo asks : Are you getting a guide dog in the future?

Yes hopefully! I recieved  a letter last week confirming that i am now offically on the waiting list for a guide dog so I am now awaiting a phone call from Guide Dogs UK to arrange a meeting to discuss the next step. It’s all very exciting!

 

13. @bethstfw asks : What’s your favourite thing to do when you have time off?

My favourite thing to do is writing blog posts, I just love how I can escape from the realities of life and I can just express my love for writing on my blog. I also love watching youtube and listening to music alongside going outside for walks or just out to the garden to spend time with my dog.

 

14. @spinkle_of_tashyy asks : favourite pizza topping?

Ham and pineapple, but I can only get this at dominos as I am yet to find a gluten free ham and pineapple pizza that is sold in stores.

 

15. @xpastelbeautyyx asks : Lipstick or mascara?

I don’t wear either to be honest with you but I want to venture out and try more of both products.

 

That concludes today’s post everyone. I hope you all enjoyed it.

Thank you so much for all your questions, do let me know if you’d like me to do more Q&A’s in the future.

Thank you all so much for reading, i hope you enjoy the rest of your week. Be sure to join me next time in My Blurred World. xox

 

5 thoughts on “April Q&A

Leave a Reply

