End of an era

As I am writing this it is Thursday the 23rd of June 2016 and today was the day that I completed my last A Level exam. I thought I would take the time to recap on my time in education and reflect on how I’m feeling on this particular day as I reach the end of my journey in education. I thought that this would be the perfect post to write as I can look back on this in the future to remember how I was feeling on this particular day.

I’m feeling a mixture of emotions at this moment in time but what I feel most of all is happiness and relief. It’s safe to say that my time in education hasn’t been plain sailing and it has been very difficult at times, my time at sixth form has been extremely difficult as I’ve experienced isolation, loneliness and my anxiety levels have definitely increased during the course of the past couple of years. But I am now glad to say that it is all over and I can finally start a new chapter in my life.

I don’t want to go into too much detail about my time at school, we can save that story for another day. I just want to briefly talk about my feelings today, how it feels to finally be leaving and what comes next in my life.

As I’ve mentioned I am feeling a sense of relief, the stress of all the work was catching up with me recently therefore the fact that I know that I have now finished is extremely satisfying as I am sure it is for everyone else too. There have been times in my school life that I have really enjoyed but being a visually impaired pupil and not having many friends have been two factors as to why my time in education hasn’t been very enjoyable. Don’t get me wrong I have never let the fact that I am visually impaired stop me from enjoying my time at school but as people didn’t understand my disability it was extremely difficult to cope at times. But I’m happy to say that I survived!

I did enjoy some parts of my education therefore it would be wrong of me to say that it was all unpleasant because it certainly wasn’t. It was only my sixth form years that were extremely hard to cope with but in no means did that stop me and I am over the moon to have now finished that chapter in my life. There is a part of me that is sad about leaving as I worked closely with my TA who has supported me for almost nine years now which is insane. I developed a good friendship with her and I will miss her very much.

What’s next I hear you ask, well my friends I am extremely excited to embark on a new adventure and to start a new journey as I move on to employment in September. I will be working within the sight loss field which I am very excited about and as I said I cannot wait to begin and try something new which I imagine will be very different to my education experience. Yes I have reached an end of an era which is scary, nerve-racking, exciting but truly unbelievable. Time flies by so quickly and it’s hard to believe that I have now finished school. I still can’t believe that I am writing this post for you today but it’s time for me to realize that it’s happening.

So that’s it! All done, it is honestly incredibly hard to believe. As I said I am a bit sad which I guess is understandable but I am mostly happy and relieved and I am very excited and eager to start this new chapter in my life. But before then, I believe that a well deserved break is needed!

14 thoughts on “End of an era

  1. Congratulations my lovely! I can’t explain how proud I am of you. It’s been tough and I know that from my own experiences too but you’ve come out stronger and such an amazing young lady of which I feel very lucky to call my friend! I know you’re going to go on to do amazing things and get the results you deserve! Be proud of yourself mrs, I know i’m proud of you! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wishing you all the best for the future and congratulations on completing your A Levels. Thank you for being a part of our blogging community. Sadly today we are also saying goodbye as we close down our Blog.
    Take care and all the best and keep on inspiring others

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! And I would just like to thank you for all your support, it really does mean a lot to me. I’m sad to hear that you are closing your blog but I also wish you all the best. Thank you again for everything and for always supporting my blog 🙂

      Like

  3. Congratulations! 🙂 I know how you’re feeling – we’re just putting our house on the market in preparation to move, so while I’ll be leaving a lot of wonderful memories behind, I’m very excited to have a new and exciting chapter of my own to explore soon too. And I remember leaving education and going into employment when I left university – it was a huge change with some uncertainty, but above all exciting, and it’s been incredibly worthwhile and satisfying. You’ll gain more confidence and learn plenty more through your work and new experiences, so your education is far from over, you never stop learning. So best of luck with it all, you’re right to be excited about it. Make the most of all the opportunities you get, you’ve earned them and deserve them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Surviving school as a visually impaired person | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

