A day in my life as a visually impaired girl

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

I just want to start this post by saying thank you for your lovely feedback and support on my last post which was my ‘who I really am‘ post. It took a lot of courage for me to post that so your support really does mean a lot so thank you!

Today’s post is another disability related post and it’s all about my life as a visually impaired girl. I’ve written a number of posts in the past about my visual impairment, talking you through how I see the world and explaining my condition etc but today I wanted to make it a little bit different. I want to make this similar to a ‘day in my life’ post that some of you may have stumbled upon before in the world of the internet but I want to put my own spin on it and make it a day in my life as a VI girl. I don’t know if this will make any sense but I thought it would be quite an interesting post for me to write so I hope you enjoy.

When I wake up in the morning at 6:15 (I’m talking about a weekday of course) my world is blurred, hence ‘My Blurred World, wow how clever. The first thing I do is pop my glasses on, although they don’t cure the ‘blurriness’ completely, they do help a little.

I then do all the typical morning things that people do, I wrote a morning routine post a few months ago which you can read here if you are interested.

I change into my outfit for the day and then go on to do my hair and make-up. People are always surprised that I can do my own hair and make-up when I’m visually impaired but let me tell you, it’s not that difficult. I absolutely love doing my own hair, creating new hairstyles and all of that and I don’t let the fact that I’m visually impaired stop me from doing so. I find doing my hair is quite easy because it’s all about the sense of touch.

unspecified.jpg

(A photo of a braided bun I love to create).

unspecified

(A photo of a french braid I occasionally wear).

IMG_2011

(A photo of some make-up products).

When it comes to make-up I did find it very difficult to apply it at first but I’ve managed to find techniques that help me make the task easier and my confidence is slowly growing when it comes to doing my make-up. I have written a post dedicated to how I do my make-up as a visually impaired person so if you’re interested in that then you can read it here. I have learnt a few more things since writing that post so if you would like an updated version then please do let me know.

Before leaving the house I clean my glasses because unfortunately that is one of the chores I have to do otherwise I’ll see even less!

I then end up in work by 9:00am. I work as a Trainee Community development assistant for the RNIB/Action for Blind people and I really enjoy my job. I only started this month but so far so good. I’m very lucky to have had this job opportunity, if I wasn’t visually impaired then I would have never had this job because I wouldn’t know of it, I do believe that sometimes being visually impaired does have its positives and this is definitely one of them.

My vision has recently deteriorated once more so looking at the computer all day at work has been a struggle but I have been taking regular breaks which sometimes helps.

After returning home at around 5:00pm I catch up with my family and talk about the day that has been which is always nice. As I said my vision has deteriorated during the past week or so and my eyes sting and they have become even more sensitive to light than usual therefore I do sometimes pop on a pair of sunglasses after getting home  and I know it’s not normal to wear sunglasses indoors but this is one of the things I have to do as a visually impaired person because sometimes the light is too much and I need to do something to reduce the pain in my eyes. During the evening I will just relax for a while as I’m normally really tired from working and my eyes also makes that worse.

I will sometimes grab my phone and open up the notes app and type how I’m feeling to get it all out there, out of my system if you will. Suffering this deterioration in my vision has knocked me quite hard so I find that writing my feelings down helps me to cope with it a little better, sounds odd I know but trust me it helps. I also text my best friend who is also visually impaired and she always understands so that helps too.

To end my day I will normally go have another chat with my family, say goodnight, go brush my teeth and all that, take off my glasses and shut my eyes as another day comes to an end.

I hope you enjoyed this post, I know it was nothing major and it might have been me just rambling on about something that made absolutely no sense, but I enjoyed writing it nonetheless.

Thank you all so much for reading, I hope you enjoy the rest of your week. Be sure to join me next time in My Blurred World.

Elin x

10 thoughts on “A day in my life as a visually impaired girl

  1. Pingback: My journey to 500 | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

