Fashion and sight loss 

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today’s post is another installment of Holly (Life of a Blind Girl) and I’s Seeing through sight loss series.

We’re going to be talking all about fashion today, explaining how we make fashion accessible for us as visually impaired people. People often have these perceptions that blind/visually impaired people can’t be fashionable or can’t look modern and stylish but this is not the case at all and this is what we’re hoping to give across in today’s post.

If you are not familiar with Holly and I’s seeing through sight loss series then you can learn more about it by reading this post here.

You might remember that I wrote a post similar to this but focusing on make-up, that post went down really well and I would like to thank you all for the feedback on it, it means a lot to me. If you would like to read that post on make-up and sight loss then you can read it here.

We are going to split today’s post into categories so it’s easier for you to learn about certain aspects of fashion and how we make them accessible for us. So without further ado I hope you enjoy today’s post and I hope you can learn something from it.

Shopping

Every girl likes to shop right? Well visually impaired girls like to too, the fact that we are visually impaired doesn’t stop us from going shopping and buying nice things to wear and enjoying the experience.

Going shopping with someone is always fun, and this is the most fun way for me as a visually impaired person to shop. in my opinion it’s always good to go shopping with someone who knows you really well when you’re visually impaired because they’re essentially your eyes  and they can pick out clothes that they know you’ll love and you know you can fully trust them. It’s also nice to go shopping with someone because you can have a catch up and put the world in its place, who wouldn’t like to do that right?

There are other ways VI people can shop also, the first is online shopping. I find that this isn’t always accessible but some websites are really good and there is a good description on some websites too which is always helpful. Unfortunately this isn’t the case for every website which does make the task of shopping online difficult. If you have some remaining vision like myself you could possibly zoom in on the items of clothing on the website to allow you to see it better.

Another way VI people can shop is by using personal assistance in store. This isn’t available in every shop but it’s definitely handy wherever it’s available and if you’re shopping alone some time. You can tell the personal shopper what item you are looking for and they will find it for you and describe it to you which is always helpful.

My personal preference when it comes to shopping is to going with someone. I just find it the most convenient and the most fun. I often go shopping with my mum and my nan which I know may not sound ‘cool’ to some of you but they know my style inside out and always choose the nicest items for me  which they know I’ll love and I can’t thank them enough for doing so.

Organising

Many people are amazed that visually impaired people can put an outfit together and actually look presentable but it’s not difficult. There are certain ways we as visually impaired people organise our clothes and jewelry items. I have written a post way back when I started my blog last year about how I organise my clothes and jewelry so you can read that here if you are interested.

I try to keep my wardrobe as organised as possible by spliting it into sections, placing all my jumpers together, all my dresses together etc. This allows me to know where everything is. As I have some remaining vision I can see what I’m picking out sometimes but I also often use the sense of touch. When I feel an item of clothing in my wardrobe I can instantly know which item that is, most of the time anyway.

It’s also possible to label your clothing, there are special labels that come with the RNIB penfriend which you can use to label clothing. The Penfriend is a labelling device, you place the microphone shaped device over a label, record what the item is and whenever you place it over that particular label again it will read it back to you which is amazing. You can describe the item in as much or as little detail as you desire, it’s a very handy device for any blind/VI person to own in my opinion.

Jewelry

I have quite a lot of jewelry and organizing it can be a bit tricky sometimes but I have found ways around this, I keep all my bracelets in a jewelry box which has different compartments in it therefore I can keep different bracelets in different sections. I tend to keep the dainty little braclets together and then the bigger ones in another section. I have come to know what each piece feels like so when I go to choose a bracelet I know exactly which one it is.

When it comes to necklaces I tend to keep them in the boxes that they came in (if they came in a box that is) and I keep them in a pile on top of each other and I label them with my penfriend.

I don’t own many rings but I do have a box that is specifically designed for keeping and organising rings. I’ve come to know what each of my rings feel like so I find it easy to know which is which.

 

Well that concludes my post for today everyone, I hope you all enjoyed it and that you learned a thing or two about how fashion and sight loss works. Be sure to go check out Holly’s post as I know it will be amazing as always and you might learn a bit more. Be sure to look out for future posts in our seeing through sight loss series and be sure to let us know if you have any suggestions for posts you’d like to see in the series in the future, we would love to here from you.

Thank you all so much for reading, be sure to join me next time in My Blurred World.

Elin x

10 thoughts on “Fashion and sight loss 

  1. Pingback: Fashion And Sight Loss | Life Of A Blind Girl

  2. Great post! I also have RP and totally agree that blind and VI people want to look fashionable, too. When you feel good about yourself and the way that you present yourself to the world you exude confidence, which makes you look even better 🙂

    I recently met a woman who is completely blind due to RP and she looked very fashionable. Her outfit was cute, she wore high heels, and her makeup looked great, too. She told me that her good friend does her clothes shopping for her. At this point, I can do my own shopping without too much trouble (I just need a ride 😜), but I made a mental note that I need to have someone lined up to do my shopping for me and keep me up with the trends!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Assumptions made about Blind/VI people | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

