My first job

Hello everyone and welcome to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today I’m writing a post all about my first job so I hope you enjoy.

I’m only eighteen years old so I’m still in my first job, I’ve been working in this particular role for just over two months now. I started my job on the first of September 2016 and I work as  a Trainee Community development assistant for the RNIB. This job is part of RNIB’s Trainee grade scheme which lasts one year.

Let me talk you through everything that happened before I started in this role. I was in my last year of sixth form and I knew that university wasn’t the option for me at this point, I had no idea what to do but then I heard about this job and decided to apply. I filled in an application form and sent it off not knowing what would come of it, I was shocked to hear that I’d been called for an interview the following week. Nerves built up inside me everyday leading up to the interview and I didn’t know what to do with myself when the day finally arrived. My mum kindly gave me a lift to the interview and waited for me when I was there, I was asked many questions about why I wanted the job, what skills I wanted to gain and improve and I was also asked many questions about equal opportunities. I came out of the interview knowing I tried my best but I didn’t think I did very well, I didn’t think I answered the questions well enough and I didn’t elaborate on the points I should have. I arrived home, got changed, took my make-up off etc and I then received a phone call. To my disbelief I was offered the job and I sat there in absolute shock! That was the definite highlight of that particular week.

Since I hadn’t finished my A level exams at that point I was told that I could rest over summer and start my new job on the first of September which is what I did.

I was very busy over summer trying to arrange different things so that everything was ready for my starting date, one of the main things I had to deal with was ‘Access to work’ so that I could get a taxi to and from work and also get the equipment I needed to complete my work. I’m not going to talk any more about access to work because there is so much I have to say about it, if you want me to write a post about my experience with access to work then please do let me know.

When September came around I was very nervous to start my new job but I was also very excited to start a new chapter in my life. The first day was quite relaxed, I met all the staff, familiarized myself with the office space and where everything was as this is important for me to know as a visually impaired person.

I’ve been doing a variety of things within my role as a trainee community development assistant. The main thing I was working on within the first few weeks in the role was writing a newsletter. As most of you probably know, writing is a huge passion of mine and I have been interested in studying journalism, something I’ve stepped away from now but I’m still interested in writing and media etc hence why I write this blog. I was very pleased that I was able to express my love of writing in my new role, it also gave me the opportunity to write about things that are important for blind/visually impaired people to know and I was able to write about visual impairment in general which is again something I’m very passionate about.

I am currently working on a website for the office I’m based in, I work for the RNIB but I’m based in another charity for blind/VI people. I love researching new information, what equipment is out there for visually impaired people etc so again this is something that is up my street.

My job also involves arranging and attending social groups, this is something that is a little bit out of my comfort zone as I’m not the most confident of people but I’ve realized that since starting my post as a community development assistant there has been a slight change in my confidence and I have noticed that I am becoming more confident than I was which is always good.

As I said previously, I’ve been working for just over two months now, it’s crazy how fast the time goes! I really enjoy my job, I love working within the sight loss field and helping fellow visually impaired people, it’s made me realize that I might like to work in the sight loss field in the future.

That concludes my post for today, I hope you all enjoyed it. If you have any questions or comments then please do get in touch, I would love to hear from you.

Thank you all so much for reading, I hope you have a lovely day/evening.

Elin x

13 thoughts on “My first job

  1. Congratulations on getting the job. Hope you really enjoy it, meet some great people and develop new skills. Keep on blogging to share your experiences and wisdom. I’m interested to hear more about the equipment you use.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m 18 too and have just started my first job during my gap year. Interesting to read about someone in a similar situation to me 🙂 You’re so lucky your job involves writing about something you’re interested in though, that would be the dream for me right now! xD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: My favourite memories of 2016 | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

