The definition of disability…

What would you say is the definition of disability? Someone can’t do something because they’re disabled? A part of someone’s life is taken away from them? A person is totally stranded and helpless because of disability? All these points aren’t true and this is what I’m hoping to draw on in today’s post.

People often refer to disability as a disadvantage but is it? I personally see my disability as a positive, it’s given me so many opportunities, of course there are some times when it gets me down but is it really worth dwelling on those moments? Why not look on the positive side of things for once, there is so much negativity in this world nowadays so why look at things and approach things in a negative manner when that can be changed and looked at in a more positive way? It’s hard to focus on the positives sometimes, I know that from personal experience but it’s not impossible, nothing is ever impossible.

People in this world often define disabled people as being abnormal, why? Why aren’t we treated as ‘normal’? What is normal? Are you normal? There are so many rhetorical and un-answered questions surrounding disability and I’m not quite sure why. Perhaps it’s because people are afraid of approaching and answering them, maybe people don’t want to answer them. It might be because the definition of disability scares people and no one except those of us who live with it know how to approach the subject.
Do you believe the definition of every word you hear? Why believe the definition of disability, not the one in the dictionary but the one given by society. There are so many people in this world who categorise people in different communities, in some people’s minds we’re all put into little boxes and everyone in that one box are seemed to be and act the same. There is one definition for that one box and apparently that one definition applies to everyone. As I said people who are classed as disabled are defined by society in a negative manner, not everyone in the world approach it negatively but a fair majority does and in my eyes this isn’t right.
Please don’t think that I’m saying anything against society and people in this world because I’m not. I’m fully aware that not all people have this one definition and thought about sight loss and disability in general, everyone is different, we all have different views and opinions so of course not everyone is going to look at matters in the same way.

Disability is a sensitive topic for some to talk about, that’s understandable I guess but don’t let that one negative definition of disability scare you. Us disabled people aren’t different to anyone else in this world and we shouldn’t be treated that way. Ok there might be one or more thing in our body that doesn’t work as well as it does for other people but should we be penalized, separated from society and treated differently because of it? No is the answer. We don’t choose to have a disability, it’s not a walk in the park for us but we learn to live with it. It’s hard to accept for some people, I find it hard to accept that my vision is deteriorating everyday and that my chronic fatigue can spiral out of control if I don’t keep my daily tasks to a level I can cope with but at the end of the day both these things are a part of me and I’ve learned to live with that. I’m ok with it. The definition given about disability doesn’t make the task of accepting disability any easier, if we could all join together and help to try to tackle the stigma and misconceptions surrounding visual impairment/disability I’m sure it would take some weight off people’s shoulders. It’s not nice to be treated differently, it’s not nice knowing that people see me as an ‘abnormal’ person because of my disability. I am ‘normal’ or as normal as a person can be, I don’t want to have to deal with people staring at me when I use my cane in public or judge me when I say I can’t see something.

Its time that people stop believing in the definition of disability, the negative one anyway. I’m sure with time some people’s views might start to change, I just hope that this happens sooner rather than later.

What are your views on this subject? What would you say is the definition of disability?

12 thoughts on “The definition of disability…

  1. In my opinion, disability is very much definied by social perception. This isn’t helped by basic dictionary definitions varying as to what disability consists of. I also completely agree with you about ‘normal’. Everyone’s normal is different! That doesn’t make one right & one wrong. We need to get to a point where people with disabilities are respected & afforded the same opportunities as others. We have unique experiences that can be really beneficial in many different types of organisations & areas of life. Xx

    Tania | When Tania Talks

    Liked by 2 people

    • I totally agree with you. The definition given by people doesn’t help because others start to believe that rather than the one we as the ones who live with it try to give across. Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment your views. I hope you have a lovely evening.
      Elin x

      Like

Leave a Reply

