My goals for 2017

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

As we approach the end of 2016 I thought it would only be appropriate for me to write a post about the things I’m hoping to achieve in 2017. I’m going to be talking about my goals and aims for the coming year and this time next year I can write a post responding to this one to reflect on if and how I achieved these goals.

I love reading posts like this so I thought it was only right for me to write one of my own so I hope you all enjoy today’s post and without further ado let’s get started.

1. Embrace my confidence

I’ve talked a lot about confidence here on my blog and if you’re a regular reader of my posts you’ll know about my struggles with confidence. I only struggle in situations where I feel anxious or in situations where I feel restricted in some way (it’s hard to explain). I’m not really a shy girl, my close family and friends know that. My confidence has grown during the course of 2016 and I’m happy about that however I’m not at that stage where I’m fully myself in every situation, this is something I’m hoping to change in 2017. I want people to see the real me as I’ve had people say to me this year that I’m really shy and I want to prove them wrong and fully embrace the confidence I know I have. It’s going to be a struggle in some cases but it is possible.

2. Talk more openly about my anxiety/panic attacks

Even though I’ve talked about my anxiety here on my blog I haven’t talked about it openly in my life offline. I want to be able to tell my family/friends and other people in my life when I’m feeling anxious or when I’ve had a panic attack because I haven’t done this in the past and I know that this was a mistake. It’s a hard topic for me to discuss but I’m hoping that I’ll find the courage to talk about it more openly in 2017.

3. Experience new things

I want to do more exciting things with my life, I want to have a taste of the big wide world and what it has to offer. One thing I would love to do is go abroad as I’ve never been before and it’s something I really want to experience. I also want to experience things that I’ve wanted to do for years, I  have booked tickets for two concerts in 2017 already which I’m ecstatic about and they’re something that I’m looking forward to attending especially as I’ll be attending them with my best friend. Booking these tickets was a start to achieving this goal.

4. Raise more awareness of disability

Raising awareness of visual impairment and disability is one of the main aims of my blog and although I believe I’ve managed to raise a little bit of awareness during 2016, I hope I can raise even more in 2017. I’ve learned that there is still a lot of stigma surrounding sight loss and it’s not pleasant to have to deal with people’s judgements and perceptions everyday so I’m really hoping that we as a sight loss community can come together and try to raise even more awareness of visual impairment and disability in general.

5. Be happy within myself

I know that this is cliché but it’ s one of my main goals. Being happy is extremely important to everyone and I don’t mean that I want to happy and smiley everyday of the year, I’m hoping that I can be happy within myself in terms of the way I look, how I approach life, how I deal with some situations. I know it won’t be possible all of the time but it’s something I’m aiming towards.

That concludes my post for today, I hope you all enjoyed it. I have much more goals that I want to achieve but I didn’t want to make this post too long so if you’d like a part two then let me know. Do also let me know what a few of your goals are for the new year, I would love to hear from you.

Thank you all so much for reading today’s post, I hope you have a lovely day/evening.

Elin x

5 thoughts on “My goals for 2017

  1. This was a great post and I loved reading it girl! I have no doubt that you’ll achieve these goals in 2017, you’re a strong girl who will achieve amazing things! Very proud xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

