16 things I’ve learned in 2016

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well and I hope you all had an amazing christmas.

Today I’m writing a post all about 16 things I’ve learned in 2016, I love reading these kinds of posts so I thought it would be a good idea for me to write one of my own. This might turn out to be a pretty lengthy post so grab a cuppa (or any other beverage if you’re like me and don’t drink tea), get cozy and let’s begin.

Things happen for a reason

I didn’t write ‘everything happens for a reason’ as I’m not quite sure if I agree with that statement but I do believe that some things happen for a reason and this has proved to be true for me in 2016. This year failure in one thing meant lead to success in another and that success has resulted in me being much happier within myself so I do believe that some things do happen for a reason.

True friends stick around

Over the past few years I’ve been a part of many friendship groups, neither of which I was happy in, friends have walked in and out of my life more times than I can remember but if there’s one thing that this year has taught me is that true friends really do stick around. I’ve had people pretending to be my friend (I’m not sure what the benefit of that was for them) but they’ve ended up walking away. Losing friends has seemed to become something I’ve become used to as it’s happened so many times for me but I now know who my true friends are, I may not have many but it’s not about numbers, it’s about having friends who truly care about you and who will always be there, I know who those people are now.

It’s important to have blind/VI friends

Before I started blogging I only knew of one or two fellow visually impaired people but since starting writing this blog and becoming more active on social media I’ve been very lucky to have met some amazing people who are living with a visual impairment just like myself. 2016 has taught me that having friends who are living with a similar thing to myself is very important. My best friend is severely sight impaired like myself and I can’t start to describe to you how special it is to me that I have someone who I can talk to about my visual impairment, someone who fully understands it and has been in a similar situation. I am now a part of a sight loss community and that is very special to me.

I need to be more open about my anxiety

If you’ve read my posts relating to anxiety then you’ll know that I haven’t been very open about it in my life away from the internet. I don’t talk very openly about it with family or friends and I’ve learned that this is something that I need to work on. Talking about things such as anxiety is very important and although I do that online and on my blog, I know that it’s something that I need to work on in my life offline. This is something that I’m hoping to work on in 2017.

Some people will never understand

I don’t want to come across harsh or mean in any way when talking about this point but one thing I’ve learned during the course of this year has been that some people will never understand. I can’t remember how many times I’ve tried to explain my visual impairment or other medical conditions to people, things like this are hard to explain especially when people have no prior understanding of the subject. Even though more and more is being done to raise awareness of visual impairment, I do believe that some people will never understand or never fully understand, of course how can they? If they don’t live with it themselves it’s evident that they can’t fully understand the subject but it’s important for people to try to make the effort to understand. I walk in the street with my cane and people don’t move out-of-the-way, I still hear comments about my cane, asking what it is etc. I hope that in the next few years more people learn more about visual impairment in the hope that we can tackle the stigma surrounding it.

I don’t need to feel embarrassed about my blog

Until a few months ago no one I knew in my life offline knew of my blog (apart from my immediate family of course). It was a secret that I kept for over a year which is pretty good in my opinion. When people I knew started to find out I felt slightly embarrassed and I’m not quite sure why. I didn’t tell anyone about my blog because I was afraid of what people might think, it was my little corner of the internet where I could be completely myself without people I know finding out. Now I’d say that most of the people I see on a daily basis know of my blog and  I’m ok with that now. I now know that I don’t need to feel embarrassed, why should I right? I feel completely comfortable with telling people who I know personally about my blog now and I’m happy that this year has taught me not to feel embarrassed about it.

I still have a long way to go to be fully confident

Confidence is another subject I’ve touched upon many times on my blog, I’ve learned in 2016 that I can be my confident self in certain situations but I’ve also learned that I still have a long way to go to be fully confident in every situation. If I feel anxious in a situation then I can’t be my confident self and if I feel restricted in some way then that’s also a barrier. The confidence is in me, I know that and my family and friends know that, I just need to find a way to bring out that confidence in situations where I wish I can.

I can do things I thought were impossible

I’ve learned this year that I can do things I never thought I could do, all it takes is a little determination and anything is possible. The only one holding you back is yourself.

Blogging is one of my main passions

I’ve absolutely loved blogging this year, I’ve learned that it is one of my main passions in life which I know might sound a little odd but it’s the truth. I have a love for writing and blogging allows me to express so many passions of mine including writing about beauty, fashion and writing and raising awareness of visual impairment/disability. I can escape the world around me when writing a blog post and it helps me to relieve all those feeling that build up inside of me. Blogging is something I hope I can continue for many years to come.

Dealing with distance is HARD

I mentioned my best friend previously and I’m going to mention her yet again in this point. I’d like to think that we have a really strong friendship, we chat every single day and she has become one of the most important people in my life, it’s so nice to know that I have such a special friend. The only problem is that we live over 150 miles away from each other. We’ve only met once in the year and a half we’ve been friends which might raise a few questions such as how can we be best friends if we’ve only met once? Well we text everyday and speak on the phone etc and I do believe that true friendship can stretch over any distance and that’s the case with us. Dealing with the distance is hard though as we can’t pop over to each other’s house when we need a chat and we can’t do the things best friends do together regularly. It’s hard to think of places to meet and since we’re both severely sight impaired, transport is difficult for us too. Hopefully we can meet up more in the next year.

Family is the most important thing

I obviously knew this before but it seems to be something that becomes clearer and clearer every single year. My family mean everything to me and the fact that they’re always there for me no matter what is so special and I appreciate them so much.

School is what was holding me back

It seems so long ago now but up until June this year I was a sixth form student, I wasn’t at all happy when I was at school and since completing my studies back in June I’ve realised that school was the thing holding me back. I’ve felt so much happier since leaving, I feel like I can express myself much better and I feel more happy within myself.

I need to embrace my visual impairment

I find that the only way I can fully accept my visual impairment is to embrace it. There is not yet a known cure for my condition although a recent breakthrough was made which can possibly bring back some vision for those who are completely blind due to RP. This year I’ve learned that it’s important to embrace disability no matter what, at the end of the day my visual impairment is part of who I am and I’m ok with that.

Being independent is important

I turned eighteen this year and I’ve learned that being independent is really important. In the past I’ve been dependent on others which I now know isn’t the best thing as you’re not going to have people around you all of the time. I hope I can become even more independent in 2017 as it’s something I really want to work on.

Time really does fly by

I think this year has been the quickest one yet, it seems like I blinked and it was gone but then again the start of the year seems so long ago! I can’t quite believe how fast the time goes, it’s made me realize that I need to cherish every single day and memory as it’s over before you know it.

Things can change dramatically in one year

I think one of the main things I’ve learned this year is that things can change dramatically in such a short amount of time, it’s hard for me to think that for the first half of the year I was a sixth form student and I’m now a Trainee community development assistant. I wasn’t expecting this to happen when I welcomed 2016 a year ago. I’m very happy that things turned out the way they have, I am now in a place where I feel happy within myself and I’m very grateful for that.

Well that concludes my post for today, I hope you all enjoyed it. Let me know a few things you’ve learned this year as I would love to hear from you.

 2016 has been a whirlwind of emotions and  experiences, I’m happy to say goodbye to some aspects of the year but I’m also grateful for some of the memories I’ve created. I have quite a few exciting things planned for 2017 which I can’t wait to experience with family and friends.

I would like to take the opportunity to wish you all a very happy new year, I hope 2017 is a good year for you all and I hope you can be happy and make amazing memories. Thank you all so much for you continued support over the year, I am truly grateful and I can’t thank you all enough for taking the time to read my blog. I hope you’ll all like my posts in the new year.

Thank you all so much for reading today’s very long post! Be sure to join me next time in My Blurred World when we will have waved goodbye to 2016 and welcome in the new year.

Elin x

13 thoughts on “16 things I’ve learned in 2016

  1. This is definitely one of my favourite posts of yours, I absolutely loved it! You’ve come such a long way in 2016 and I’m so incredibly proud of you and feel beyond lucky to call you my best friend. I know you’re going to do amazing things in 2017 and I can’t wait for some unforgettable memories with you! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww thank you so so much Hols! This means so much to me! I’m so proud of you too and as I’ve said millions of times I’m the lucky one! I hope 2017 brings you lots of happiness because you deserve it. I can’t wait to make lots of amazing memories 💗 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: My journey to 500 | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

