My journey to 500

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today (the 11th of January 2017) I hit 500 followers on my blog. This is something that I can’t quite believe, it might not seem like a lot compared to some people but for me personally it’s a huge milestone that I never thought I would reach.

I’ve decided to write this post to reflect on my blogging journey and to thank you all for helping me to reach where I am today.

I hope you all enjoy today’s post and without further ado let’s begin.

(Photo of wordpress 500 followers sign with the words ‘Congratulations on getting 500 total follows on My Blurred World).

Thank you!

First of all and most importantly I would like to take the opportunity to thank each and every one of you for clicking that follow button and joining me on this amazing blogging journey. Blogging isn’t about numbers but reaching milestones like this one is a truly special feeling. It amazes me that over 500 people have chosen to read, like, comment and follow my blog, I am eternally grateful and I honestly can’t thank you all enough. I love receiving feedback from you all and hearing all of your amazing stories. Thank you for joining me in My Blurred World and being so kind and supportive. You all make this journey even more special and although I know that sounds cringe but it’s the truth.

My blogging journey – a reflection

My blogging journey started on the 4th of April 2015 when I hit the publish button on my very first post, it seems like such a long time ago now! I’m really happy with the progress my blog has made over the past year or so and I can’t thank you all enough for sharing this experience with me.

I’ve written a whole bunch of posts ranging from beauty to lifestyle to disability with my most popular post being my review of Zoella’s sweet inspirations range which you can read here. I haven’t been satisfied with every post I’ve published but I’m so happy with the ones I’ve posted over the past few months and I hope you’ve enjoyed reading them as much as I’ve loved writing them.

Blogging has given me so many opportunities including giving me the opportunity for my very first interview which I did on RNIB’s connect radio last year, I absolutely loved it. Blogging has also given me the opportunity to meet some amazing people including my best friend.

Our little blogging family has grown so much over the last few months and that makes me so happy, not because of numbers but because it makes me smile when I hear that people enjoy reading my posts and can learn something from them. I’m so glad to hear that some of you have gained some knowledge of visual impairment and that I’ve been able to raise some awareness of disability as that is one of the main aims of my blog.

It’s surreal to think of how much has changed since I published that first post back in 2015, I’m so incredibly lucky to have such supportive followers so thank you!

My top ten favourite blog posts

I thought it would be a good idea to list a few of my favourite blog posts that I’ve posted here on my blog, purely to reflect on what I love to write about most and I think it will be a nice thing to look back on in the future. I’ve written over 105 posts in total but here are ten of my favourites :

(These are in no particular order).

  1. 16 things I’ve learned in 2016
  2. A letter to my visual impairment
  3. Meeting my best friend
  4. Who I really am
  5. The VIP daily living TAG
  6. Make-up and sight loss – how it works
  7. My thoughts as a visually impaired person
  8. A day in my life as a visually impaired person
  9. GRWM – my 18th birthday
  10. My battle with confidence

There are so many posts that I’ve loved to write but those were just some of the ones that spring to mind when thinking about my favourite posts.

As I said, I’m so happy with the progress that my blog has made since 2015, thank you all for being so supportive and kind. I appreciate every single one of you.

I hope you enjoy reading my upcoming posts, I can’t wait to find out what the future holds.

Elin x

32 thoughts on “My journey to 500

Leave a Reply

