Things I’ve learned from blogging

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today I’m writing a post all about the things I’ve learned from blogging. I cannot say that I’ve mastered the art of blogging but what I can say is that it’s something I truly enjoy and I have a passion for it. Blogging has given me many opportunities that I am truly grateful for and I’ve learned many things within my near two years in the blogging world. I thought it would be a good idea to share some of the lessons I’ve learned from blogging with you all today.

I hope you enjoy today’s post and let’s begin.

  1. No matter how lonely you feel, you’re never alone

You’re never alone when you’re a blogger, all that needs to be done is publish a post and someone will always leave a lovely uplifting comment or someone will always be there to talk on social media. It’s such a lovely close-knit community which I’m proud to be a part of.

2. Inspiration comes when you least expect it

Brainstorming for ideas never works for me and when it does, I am rarely completely happy with the ideas that come of those brainstorming sessions. I find that the best ideas occur in my mind when I least expect it, I can get an idea whilst out shopping, when I’m at work or even when I wake up in the middle of the night. I find that those ideas are often the best, I’m not saying that my post ideas are amazing but I like them and I love it when they appear out of no where. Don’t feel pressured to come up with blog post ideas, I can assure you that they will come to you and when they do, you’ll be over the moon about it.

3. Publishing posts you enjoy writing is far more important that publishing ‘popular posts’.

This is something I truly stand by. When I first started off my blog I wrote many of those ‘popular posts’ such as product empties, what’s in my bag posts, beauty hauls and everything in between. Although I loved writing those posts I’ve recently discovered that I don’t get as much enjoyment out of them as I do writing the type of posts I publish now. Ok, so this post you’re reading now might not be the most original of ideas but it’s not something you see everywhere and I love that concept. Don’t get me wrong, if you like writing those posts that might be classed as ‘popular’ then that’s all well and good and I won’t lie to you, I do love reading them, I just personally believe that it’s better to publish content that you enjoy writing and that will attract the right audience. Blogging isn’t about views, followers and being popular, it’s about the enjoyment and getting the message you want across to your readers. It’s about expressing your passions and sharing that passion with others who share it.

4. The most important thing is WHO reads yours posts NOT how many read them.

Receiving a lot of views and engagement can be rewarding, of course it can but something I’ve learned over my time as a blogger is that who your posts are reaching is far more important than any number of views. If your posts are reaching the right people, helping to change perceptions, inspire others and helping people in the same situation then that is a huge reward in itself. I love receiving feedback from you as my readers, I love interacting with you all and when I hear someone saying that they’ve learned something from my posts or my posts have helped them to see something in a different light, it makes me feel fulfilled, like what I’m doing is the right thing. Although many of my posts don’t get many views, if someone were to comment on that post saying it’s helped them in some way then that is far more valuable to me than any amount of views.

5. It take a while to find your true passion

I’d say for the first year of blogging I was constantly drawn to write beauty related posts, I thought that was the only thing I was passionate about and I believed that since those beauty posts seemed to be quite popular it must be the right choice for me. I was wrong. As you might be able to tell I’ve steered away from all those beauty posts recently, although I do write the occasional beauty related post and I do enjoy them, I am far more interested in writing disability and lifestyle posts recently. Writing a disability or lifestyle post is far more enjoyable for me these days than writing a generic make-up or beauty related post. I have a few beauty posts planned for the near future but I plan to put my own twist on them and make them something I truly enjoy writing rather than listing a host of products which is something I no longer find the enjoyment in.

6. Over promoting new blog posts is not a good idea

It’s important to promote your posts, trying to reach the right audience to allow your message to be heard but there is such a thing as over promoting. I’ve been guilty of this in the past but people won’t thank you for it. I personally get bored with people over promoting their posts and although I know that all they’re trying to do is reach more people and get credit for their hard work, i do believe that there is a line and sometimes that line can be crossed, I know I’m guilty of this. I still might be promoting my posts too much, I know that my twitter can be filled with promotion of my posts sometimes but I try not to over step the mark. Although I want my message to reach more people, I don’t think that constantly tweeting about posts is the right way to go about that.

7. Blogging can be hard work sometimes

My posts are often 1000 to 2000 word posts and that’s often because I can’t give a voice to what I have to say in words less than that amount. But I love to write and I just get carried away when writing but it’s evident that writing so much can be very time-consuming but I enjoy that time so I don’t mind that aspect. I think social media is such a huge part of blogging these days, everyone finds the need to promote their posts, talk to fellow bloggers, read other content and although this can be enjoyable, it can be hard to keep up with it all. I think it’s important for everyone to take a little break from social media once in a while because it’s easy to get caught up in it all and forget about some of the things that are more important. Although I love blogging (a lot) and I love spending time on social media, I do believe that it can be hard sometimes so it’s important to take  a little step back from time to time in my opinion.

8. Writing is something I want to do for years to come

Blogging has made me fully aware of my love for writing. I knew it existed previously but I am now completely in love with writing. I can relieve so many feelings just by writing a post and I can escape the world around me when doing so. It’s made me realise that I would possibly like to pursue a career in writing and this is something I’m researching everyday. My love for writing becomes even clearer and more apparent to me whenever I write a new blog post, I loved writing before but now I have a passion for it.

9. Becoming a part of a community is a very special thing

Since becoming a blogger i have become a part of a community and that community is very special. I love interacting with fellow writers, bloggers and content creators, it’s so nice to chat with people who share the same passions. I’ve also found myself as part of a sight loss community, as you know one of the main things I talk about on my blog is my visual impairment and sharing my story has allowed me to meet so many amazing people who are living in a similar situation; I love being a part of a community consisting of such lovely and inspiring people.

10. The internet is an amazing place

This links in with the point I just mentioned but the internet is a truly amazing place. Although it can be filled with hate and negativity sometimes, more often than not those moments and feelings are cancelled out by all the positivity and inspiration that people provide the internet with. Blogging and social media has allowed me to gain and create some amazing friendships including meeting my best friend which I never believed would be possible just by creating a blog. It’s allowed me to connect with some truly amazing people and I’m so grateful for that. Blogging has given me the opportunity to share my passions with the world and has taught me so many things, I will be forever grateful for the things I’ve learned and for the people I’ve met and I can’t wait to see what the future in blogging holds.

Well that concludes my post for today, I hope you all enjoyed it. Do let me know what you thought of this post as I would love to hear from you.

What are some things you’ve learned from blogging? Let’s have a chat about it in the comments below.

Thank you for reading today’s post. I hope you have a lovely week.

Elin x

35 thoughts on “Things I’ve learned from blogging

  1. I agree with you completely! Especially writing. The more I write, the more I just want to do it! Also, with the promoting on social media. Its definitely important for our sanity that we take a break once in a while!
    Can I also share something blogging has taught me? Its taught me to realise what is truly important to me to write about. For a while I was posting a lot of recipes, thinking that is what a ‘food blogger’ should do. I didn’t really enjoy that. Don’t get me wrong, I love to bake, but to post a recipe every week? That’s not for me. The more I blogged, the more I realised what I really wanted to do. And that was cake decorating tutorials. Its in the same category as ‘food blogging’, but it’s a niche. I guess what I’m trying to say is that blogging helped me find my passion, and also taught me how t share it. This is kind of like your no.5.
    Thanks for sharing this post! Going to get off this post now and read some of your other posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so glad that you could relate to this post! I totally understand where you’re coming from, blogging is for expressing your passions and it’s ok if it takes a while to find that passion, as long as you’re writing about what you love now then that’s all that matters. I am so glad to hear that you’re now writing about something you’re truly passionate about, I feel the same way! Thank you so much for reading this post, I hope you like my other posts. Have a lovely evening 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Write Things You are Passionate About – CaniTreasureBox

  3. You are right about the “who” vs “how many.”
    I can count on one hand the number of bloggers who read me, but they are exceptional writers, way beyond my level, and their support is worth more to me than a thousand followers. My readers inspire me, and I feel privileged to call them friends. What better blogger world is that?

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right, it’s so lovely amd special in a way when you find other bloggers who share the same passions as yourself. To have those people as a strong support network is worth so much more than any amount of followers. Thank you for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

