Blind girl beauty hacks

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today I’m writing all about some of the blind girl beauty hacks that I use and find helpful on a daily basis. I’m hoping that this post might help some of my fellow visually impaired people who are also beauty enthusiasts.

Some of these hacks may also apply to you sighted people reading this so I hope you enjoy reading.

Most blind/VI people might know of these hacks/tips already but I thought I’d share them anyway as it might answer some questions I receive about how I can be such a beauty lover if I’m severely sight impaired.

I hope you enjoy today’s post and without further ado let’s get started.

Label, label, label!

unspecified.jpg

Labelling products with either braille, large print or penfriend labels makes the process of finding your desired product(s) a whole lot easier. I personally use penfriend labels as they are very small and discrete. You may be able to see in the photo  above that there are small circular labels on some of my make-up products such as lipsticks, foundations and some make-up brushes. I tend to put these labels on products which I have one or more shades of or on brushes if I have some that are quite similar or if I want to know what the purpose of the brush is. It’s a great way to easily find the products you want to use. If you label your products like myself with a PenFriend then you can record for as long as you like which gives you the option to provide as much detail of the product as you desire, maybe you could even provide some information about make-up looks that you can create with that product or what kind of eye look a lipstick goes with best, the possibilities are endless.

Organise

Organising your collection will make it so much easier to work with. Place your products in the same place every time so you know exactly where everything is.

Eye make-up for starters 

Some people prefer to do their face makeup first, that’s what you would naturally do right? Personally as a VI girl I find it easier to start off with my eye makeup. Why, do you ask? Well as you all know, eyeshadow can have a lot of fall out which us VI girls most likely won’t notice therefore by doing my eye makeup first I can easily clean up the edges without worrying if I’ve taken away any of my base makeup.

Keep your lotions and potions in the fridge

img_1769.jpg

(A photo of the Liz Earle eye bright soothing eye lotion which is my eye lotion of choice).

Everyone gets itchy, irritated and sore eyes but for us blind/VI girls and guys it can be particularly worse. I find that a great way to soothe my eyes when they’re sore or painful is applying some eye lotion on a cotton pad and holding it over my eyes for a few minutes. Keeping this lotion in the fridge is perfect as it evidently makes it nice and cold which instantly provides the lotion or cream with a cooling and soothing agent. I think it’s also a good idea to keep any eye creams or mositurisers in the fridge as it will instantly make you feel nice and refreshed when applying them.

Some nail tips :

unspecified.jpg

(A photo of some of the nail polishes that I own).

Vaseline can be your nail painting saviour 

Painting nails as a blind/VI person has proven to be one of the most difficult beauty regimes but this tip makes it that little bit easier. Applying vaseline around your nails can prevent any polish from transferring on to your skin, something everyone dreads right? Give it a go and see how you get on.

Keep your nail polish in the fridge

This is not something I do but I’ve heard a lot of people say it’s a great way for blind/VI people to paint their nails. By keeping your polish in the fridge it will make the polish easier to feel when you apply it to your nails as it will be really cold. I know many people don’t agree with this idea since keeping your nail polish in the fridge may interfere with the formula but if you want to give it a whirl with a cheaper polish then by all means go for it!

That concludes my post for today, I hope you all enjoyed it and were able to learn a little something from it. Do let me know of any blind girl beauty hacks and tips you might have or any beauty hacks you have in general, I’m always interested to discover new tips.

Thank you so much for reading today’s post, I hope you have a lovely day/evening.

Elin x

30 thoughts on “Blind girl beauty hacks

  1. Pingback: Reflecting: Reaching 1000 followers | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

