How to beat the negativity

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today I thought I’d share a few ways to beat the negativity in your life. I’d like to think that I’m quite a positive person despite of everything, it’s no secret that I definitely have my down days but overall I try to maintain a positive outlook on life.


Not everyone can find the positivity in certain situations, we all pick ourselves apart and doubts, negativity and self deprecation can come at us from all kinds of different angles but why does this happen to us? I think we all focus too much on the image and the perfect people portrayed in the media but let me tell you something, no one is perfect. We are all our own worst enemies, no one will ever be completely happy with themselves and this might be because of the media or just purely because of the negativity that builds up inside us. It’s time we stop dwelling on those negatives and help each other to focus on the positives for once. Would you agree? Here are a few of the ways I like to try to beat the negativity.

Recognise/acknowledge the negativity

The first step to beating the negativity is by recognising/ acknowledging the cause of it. If you can do so then you’re half way there. This will allow you to figure out what’s making you feel all those negative emotions and you can then find the best ways to go about them.

Stop comparing yourself to others

I know this is something you probably hear constantly but that’s because it’s so important. Some people might seem to have the perfect life with their perfect instagram feeds, flawless make-up and gorgeous hairstyles but there’s so much that goes on behind the scenes but people don’t often show this. You should in no way compare your ‘behind the scenes’ to other’s ‘centre stage’. No one in this world is perfect even if they seem to be.

Challenge it

I think many people are scared of the negative aspects of life but one of the best ways of conquering it is to challenge it. Challenging something is often the best way to go about a situation, don’t feel like you can’t tackle whatever it is that you’re facing because you can. Challenge the negativity in your life and prove that it can’t get the better of you. Don’t let the negativity get to you, you are better than you think you are, trust me on this one.

img_2851-1

Take some time out

Everyone deserves a break, I think it’s important for everyone to have some time to themselves every now and again. I personally love being in tranquil locations where I can feel calm and at ease. It helps to relieve all those negative thoughts and forget about the world around me for a while. You can do whatever it is that makes you happy, I’m sure it will allow you to forget about those negative thoughts for a couple of hours.

Over-thinking and feeling regret is not your friend

Ruminating over past events and experiences will do you no good, we can’t change the past, it’s been and gone and although you might feel negative due to what might have happened previously in your life you must try to move on from it. This can be hard in some cases, I’m not denying that but it’s possible. Making mistakes and doing things we regret is how we grow as people. They’re called life lessons, we learn from everything we do in life. Over-thinking and feeling regretful for the mistakes you might have made won’t do you any good and it causes negativity to arise. Be strong and challenge these feelings that build up inside of you, you can beat them.

Search for positivity

It can be hard sometimes, I know but nothing is ever impossible. Try to find the positivity in every situation, it might only be a small glimpse of something positive but once you find it, don’t let it go. Focus on that one positive thing and embrace it.

That concludes my post for today, I hope you all enjoyed it. How do you beat the negativity?

Elin x

14 thoughts on “How to beat the negativity

Leave a Reply

