You don’t need sight to have vision

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today’s post is a little bit different as I’m going to be writing all about how being visually impaired or registered blind doesn’t mean that a person can’t have vision, it might not make much sense when I put it in this context but I’m hoping to highlight my point in this post. I know this post might not be of interest to some of you but I’m hoping that those of you who continue to read do enjoy the post and take something away from it.

There are so many negative attitudes surrounding the topic of visual impairment and these continue to perpetuate inaccurate perceptions of those of us who live with sight loss. Some seem to think that living with a disability means that one’s life comes to a halt, everything must stop because we’re not capable of doing things for ourselves or achieving anything in life, this could not be further from the truth and I’m writing this post today to highlight the fact that the only thing disabling me is some people’s ignorance.

I was registered blind in 2011 due to a degenerative eye condition known as Retinitis Pigmentosa which I was diagnosed with in 2004 at the age of six. However I do have some remaining vision which is unfortunately continuously deteriorating.

I’ve come across people who have been surprised by the fact that I go about my life as any sighted person would, it’s no secret that I have to make a few adjustments but being blind/visually impaired isn’t and shouldn’t be a barrier in my opinion. A blind/partially sighted person can do and achieve anything a sighted person would. As a visually impaired person myself I personally love things such as make-up, photography, fashion and many other things that someone who is fully sighted have passions for also. The fact that I am losing my sight doesn’t mean that my passions for these things deteriorate alongside it.

unspecified.jpg

I work four days a week, I go out shopping, I apply my own make-up, do my own hair and I’m even going to be attending a couple of concerts this year, did you ever think that a blind/VI person would be able to do these things? Anything is possible these days with the rise of assistive technology and the effort us blind/VI people are making to tackle the stigma surrounding sight loss, at the end of the day every little thing helps and one day I’m hoping that the negativity and the perceptions surrounding disability will slowly disappear.

The negative perceptions, myths and stereotypes that are associated with sight loss and disability are all born because of lack of understanding within society, it might not be possible for someone to fully understand the extent of losing vision or being blind but I think it’s important for everyone to know that it’s not a barrier and that we can live a fully happy and fulfilled life, we might not have sight but we have vision for the things we’re passionate about in life.

Everyone has the right to live their life like they want to live it, disability or not, I know that some disabilities might be restricting for some people but there are ways around this, we can live the life we want to live. I am now aware of many fellow blind/VI people who go about their busy day-to-day lives with their cane, guide dog, support worker and assistive technology, these are all things that assist us and help us make life a little more accessible. Although these things might not allow me to regain my eyesight, they do provide an alternative route, they provide me with freedom which everyone is entitled to.

We’re all entitled to our freedom, we’re all entitled to having equal opportunities, disability shouldn’t be considered a barrier. Living with sight loss has proven to be difficult at times but it’s not all doom and gloom, we can paint the world in colour and even if we can’t see those colours, we know that they’re there, we know that there’s positivity out there, a world to be explored and being blind/VI shouldn’t stop us from exploring.

All I can hope is that someday people learn to look past the disability, I hope that we are not judged on the basis of the myths and the misconceptions that surround being blind or disabled in any way. I hope that people don’t instantly assume that life is black and white because someone registered blind.

I may be losing my sight but I can assure you that my vision is perfectly intact.

What are your views on this topic?

Elin x

17 thoughts on “You don’t need sight to have vision

  1. Thank you for sharing so candidly and honestly. It is what we as society really needs to hear. I found my way here from a reblog by Her Headache and was captivated by your post.

    It is going back 20 years now, but I had a very close friend that lost his sight through Type 1 diabetes. I was always so much in awe of his abilities. He learned to read Braille and listened to books on tape. Where I often misplace stuff, Rob was so organized with a proper place for everything. He never once considered himself disabled even though so often he was stigmatized.. He really left an impact on me. My friend died from complications with his diabetes, but his life changed me.

    This is a very powerful post and I appreciate you taking the time to share.

    Carl

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 10 things I’ve learned from being blind | My Blurred World

  3. Good Morning, I am a program manager for an organization in NJ who provides programs for adults with vision loss. I enjoyed your post and I will be sharing them with our program participants. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

