How to tell people about your blog

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

A few months ago I published  a post reflecting on why I didn’t tell anyone about my blog which you can read here. Following that post I received a few requests to write a sequel post if you will about my top tips on how to tell people about your blog.

IMG_2896.jpg

The amount of comments I received on the post I just mentioned shocked me as so many fellow bloggers told me that they have never told anyone about their blog either and that they weren’t sure if they had the confidence to ever do so but I’m hoping today’s post will help those you who would like to tell someone in your life about the blog you’re writing.

Be confident

I believe that one of the most important things when wanting to tell someone about your blog is to be confident. Not only in your content and what you’re writing but to have that confidence within yourself. If you can demonstrate that you are confident in your blog then others will notice that and will realise that you’re passionate about what you’re doing and will support you for it.

Don’t be afraid

Being afraid of how people might react to your blog is probably one of the main things holding you back from announcing it but I can assure you that it’s not that daunting. The support I’ve received from people I know offline have found out about my blog has been incredible, they’ve all been very supportive which I am so incredibly grateful for. Your blog is something to be proud of, don’t be afraid of what others might think of it because if you’re proud of yourself and what you’re writing then that’s the most important thing. Your blog is where you can express who you are, somewhere you can share your passions and interests therefore the most important thing is that you are happy with your little corner of the internet.

Tell someone you’re close to, someone you can trust

If  you want to tell someone about your blog the best thing to do in my opinion is to tell someone who you’re close to, someone who you trust and know will be supportive of you and what you’re doing. If you explain to them what your blog is about, why you write it and how it makes you feel then they will be supportive and be happy for you. If you gain that response that you desire from that person then that might make you feel more confident when wanting to tell others about your blog in the future.

IMG_2901.jpg

Don’t tell people about your blog directly

I’m aware that this point might not make much sense but this is the way I’ve gone about it in some cases. I have a Facebook page dedicated to my blog and the way some of my family members/friends have found out about my blog is by me inviting them to like my Facebook page so therefore I haven’t told them directly. This idea may not appeal to some but in my case it made me feel more comfortable than it would have been to tell them in person.

Be proud

Blogging is something to be proud of. At the end of the da you are writing content for hundreds or even thousands of people to read, your writing reaches all four corners of the globe and in my opinion that is a pretty big achievement. If you’re proud of your blog then that will shine through when you tell others about it and I’m telling you now, more often than not whoever you’re opening up to about your blog will be proud of you too.

That concludes my post for today, I hope you all found it helpful in some way.

Are you afraid of telling people about your blog? Do you have any tips for those who are? Let me know in the comments!

Elin x

10 thoughts on “How to tell people about your blog

Leave a Reply

