Two years in progress

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today marks exactly two years since I hit the publish button on my very first blog post, how crazy is that?

In honour of my blog’s second birthday I thought I’d write a post all about my blogging journey over the past two years by reflecting on the progress my blog has made but also focusing on my blogging goals for the future.

I hope you enjoy today’s post and without further ado let’s begin.

How it all started

I created my blog on the 29th of March 2015 so essentially its offical birthday was on that date but I’m considering it to be on the day I published my first post which was on the 4th of April 2015. I’m not sure why it took me almost a week to publish my first post from the day I created my blog, I must have been quite nervous about it!

I’ve talked about why I started my blog many times before but incase you’re a new reader and are not aware of this reason, here’s a little recap. I created my blog in the aim of talking about beauty,  fashion and disability. I wanted (and still do) to raise awareness of visual impairment in the hope of tackling the stigma surrounding sight loss and also helping fellow blind/visually impaired people. I also wanted to have my own little corner of the internet where I could share my passion for writing as it’s always been an interest of mine.

unspecified (5)

(Photo description : photo shows a MacBook with wall art next to it which says “I’m a blogger, what’s your superpower?”)

What’s changed/progressed?

As I mentioned, my blog was somewhere I was hoping to share my interest of beauty and fashion and to share my experiences living with a visual impairment along with other medical conditions. As time has progressed I believe I’ve moved away from talking about make-up and skin care and have focused more on talking about disability and lifestyle topics which I find I enjoy much more.

One big change for me and my blog last year was writing one of the most personal posts I’ve probably ever written, this one being a post called ‘Who I really am’ which I very nervously clicked the publish button on back in September last year. This was a turning point for both my blog and I as I finally revealed my real name, where I come from etc which I was previously very skeptical about doing. I am so glad I did though as I can now interact and have a conversation with you my readers as Elin and not just an anonymous person behind the screen.

Readership

Blogging is definitely not about followers, views and stats but I believe it is about building a community. I’ve gained so many lovely readers in my two years of blogging and I couldn’t be more grateful. I now have over 800 WordPress followers which I am so incredibly grateful for and I would like to thank you all for taking the time out of your day to read, like and comment on my posts, it truly means the world and all your feedback means so much to me.

The future

So what does the future hold? I guess this is a question that no one can answer but here are a few things I’m hoping to aim for.

Self-hosting

One of the main things I’m hoping for in the next few months is to make my blog a self-hosted site, one I can claim to be completely my own, one which I can design to how i want it, a blog i can be 100% proud of. Hitting that two-year blogging milestone is a big achievement in my opinion and I feel like it’s time to up my blogging game. I want to take it a little more seriously (not that I don’t now but I’m sure you know what I mean). I’ve been researching and looking into self-hosted blogging for a few months now and I believe that I’m ready to make that step forward so let’s hope that it’s something I can achieve.

Writing projects

As I mentioned previously, I have a true passion for writing and I’m hoping that in the coming months/years I can express and share this on not only my own personal blog but other platforms also. I would like to venture into the world of guest blogging, writing for other publications etc as I am an aspiring writer and it’s a path I’d like to go down.

Building a community

We have established a lovely community here at My Blurred World but I’m hoping that in the future we can grow our little community even more. I love talking to new people, hearing their stories, learning about their life experiences and just purely getting to know new people. It’s something I really enjoy and I’m hoping our little community can continue to grow.

To finish off this post, I’d like to thank you all for your continued support and for making my blogging journey so enjoyable, your support means the absolute world to me and this blogging journey wouldn’t be the same without you.

My blog is definitely still a work in progress but I’m hoping it will continue to improve in the future. I am so grateful that I have been able to become a blogger, it’s something I never saw myself doing for a long period of time but I’m so glad that it’s something I’ve stuck to because it’s honestly something I’ve fallen in love with.

Thank you for being a part of this blogging journey and being a part of My Blurred World, whether you’ve been here since the very start or you’ve only just joined, thank you for your support and I just want you to know that I appreciate you so much.

I hope you continue to enjoy reading my posts and I’m looking forward to see what the future holds for my blog and I.

Are you a blogger? If so, how long have you been blogging and do you enjoy it? I’d love to hear from you.

Elin x

19 thoughts on “Two years in progress

  1. Wow congratulations on your two year anniversary!! Such an amazing achievement.

    It’s so encouraging to see blogs that really stand the test of time, makes me excited for the future and what’s to come.

    My goal is to be self hosted soon as well so good luck with it πŸ™‚

    Laura xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! I am beyond proud of what you’ve achieved in the last two years and I am excited for the future! I feel very lucky to be a part of this journey with you xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Seeing through sight loss Q&A | My Blurred World

Leave a Reply

