Blind girl beauty essentials

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

So it’s been a long while since I’ve published any content on my blog. I’ve never had such a long break from blogging and I did write an entire post dedicated to explaining the reason for my break but then decided not to publish it since I didn’t think it would be a post that would interest many of you and I didn’t want to feel like I had to justify myself for not posting for such a long time. At the end of the day, we all have lives to get on with, we have decisions to make, problems/stresses to deal with and this results in blogging taking a back burner sometimes which I’m sure you can all understand and relate to if you are a blogger yourself.

Anyway, today I’m finally back blogging which I am so happy about. I thought I’d write a post relating to two topics I love talking about here on my blog, beauty and visual impairment. I thought I’d combine the two topics and write about some of my beauty essentials as a blind/VI person. Please note that these are purely essentials for me personally so they might not work for everyone/every blind person out there but I thought I’d share my essentials with you as you might find them helpful and might want to give them a go yourself.

I hope you enjoy today’s post and without further ado let’s get started.

Real Techniques miracle complexion sponge

If you’re a regular reader of mine then you will have heard me mention this product many times before as it’s my favourite make-up tool to use for blending in concealer and foundation. This is the only make-up application tool that I’ve found which I know I can trust when it comes to blending in my base products and although I do still ask a sighted person to check my make-up before I leave the house I know that more often than not my foundation will be blended in properly. I would definitely recommend this product if you’re blind/VI or even if you’re not and you’re just on the hunt for a good make-up applicator, this is definitely a good one to go for.

Cotton buds

I know these aren’t the most exciting of items to mention but they’re great to clean up any make-up mistakes (and there can be plenty of those when you can’t see what you’re doing) but I often use them to clean up around my nails if I’ve painted them as I often get the polish on my skin so these are a great way to clean up those mistakes that I’m sure we all have.

Moisturizer

IMG_1750

(A photo of the Liz Earle skin repair mositurizer which is my favourite to use).

I think this must be an essential for everyone but as a blind/VI person I think it’s especially important to know that you apply your make-up on a smooth surface as it makes the application process a whole lot easier. It helps to make base products to blend in more seamlessly which is important for everyone, visually impaired or not, but I think it’s even more important for those of us who are blind/VI as we can’t always be sure if our make-up is sitting right or looks presentable.

Clear mascara

I am very lucky in the sense that I have naturally long eyelashes so I can get away with not wearing any mascara at times but if I feel like I need a little bit of enhancement and volume then I will always use my clear mascara of choice which is The Body Shop’s lash and brow gel. I think a clear mascara is definitely a good option for any blind/VI person out there especially if you’re just starting out in make-up. I think it’s a good way of practicing to use mascara but without the hassle of having to clean up any mistakes that can occur when using black mascara for example.

Too Faced eyeshadow palettes

IMG_2919.jpg

(A photo of the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette and the Sweet Peach palette).

These are products that I’ve mentioned countless amounts of times on my blog before so if you’ve been reading my posts for a while then I’m sure you’re sick of me talking about them all the time but I couldn’t possibly write this post without mentioning my much-loved Too Faced eyeshadow palettes. I can’t deny that I own one too many eyeshadow palettes but the Too Faced ones are definitely the most accessible that I’ve found. Now you’re probably thinking how can an eyeshadow palette be accessible? Well, what I love about these two palettes in particular is that they both have tactile packaging therefore they are easy to locate in your make-up collection especially if you have a number of products to choose from like I do. The eyeshadows themselves don’t have much fall out either, if any, which is important to me as a visually impaired make-up enthusiast as I don’t need to be afraid of the product going everywhere. I also like to use paraben free makeup, especially on my eyes and I believe that most of Too Faced’ palettes are paraben free, the two I’ve just mentioned are anyway so that is another reason as to why they are some of my beauty essentials.

Well that concludes today’s post, I hope you all enjoyed it. I am so happy to be back blogging again and I can’t wait to start writing new posts for you in the coming weeks. If you have any suggestions of posts you’d like to see from me then please let me know as I’d really appreciate any ideas/suggestions you might have.

What are some of your beauty essentials? Leave your favourites and recommendations in the comments as I would love to hear from you.

Elin x

17 thoughts on “Blind girl beauty essentials

  1. Have you tried the lush full of grace serum bar it’s an amazing moisturiser, I’d probably not recommend it for the day time but it makes my skin plum. I also love the Charlotte tilbury dolche Vita palette very simple to use and you can’t go wrong with any of the shades. Thirdly the benefit double the lip lipstick it has a lipstick and lip liner in one so it’s very easy to apply.

    TGWPD XX

    Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t know how old you are but I’m a student and hate to pay full price. The Charlotte Tilbury palette retails for around £39 . There’s a site endorsed by UCAS called opinion panel and I got £25 in vouchers for house of Fraser for doing surveys so it took it down to TBD price of a drugstore palette. Also the benefit products are cheaper on the airplane I got the big sexy lip kit for £16, it usually retails at £26 . Also I know you like the body shop there’s an app called vouched codes where it sometimes offers 40% off X

        TGWPD

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah man!!!
    Though I don’t like make- up at all, I love reading all your posts.
    I was just about to ask why you are absent…It was so long…And you posted.
    I love the balance you maintain between bad and sickly.
    ❤Your work…Refined and Classy!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

