How to beat bloggers block

Hello everyone and welcome back to My Blurred World.

I hope you’re all doing really well.

Today’s post is aimed to hopefully help some of my fellow bloggers. We all love blogging, that’s why we do it right? But thinking of a post to publish every week or feeling inspired to write new content isn’t always the easiest of things to do. I’m sure every single blogger reading this post has encountered a spell of bloggers block somewhere along the line of their blogging journey, myself included so today I thought I’d write a post sharing a few ways you can hopefully beat bloggers block when it happens to you.

You may have noticed that I haven’t been publishing much content on my blog over the past few months and there’s many reasons for that, I went through a phase of not posting for over two months, something I never thought would happen but it did and there’s nothing wrong with that. I encountered a very bad case of blogger’s block which prevented me from posting and being able to think of new ideas for my blog, although I wasn’t a fan of going through that phase, I knew that not posting was the best thing to do at that time. There is no point in publishing content just for the sake of it, it’s better to take a break and come back to it when feeling more inspired and motivated, that’s my opinion anyway.

But I soon realised that going through that phase of blogger’s block wasn’t that bad, it was a break that I needed because of other things that have been going on in my life and not pressurizing myself to post definitely helped, at the end of the day I’ve been able to get a post idea following my spell of blogger’s block, that’s the reason behind this post and I’m hoping that some of you will find it helpful.

So after that very long intro, I hope you enjoy today’s post and without further ado let’s begin.

IMG_2898.jpg

Don’t put pressure on yourself

Blogging/social media is such a competitive world these days, it’s easy to feel pressured to publish new and exciting/interesting content, to feel like you have to post in order to keep your followers/readers active but at the end of the day you have to be happy with the content you’re creating. There is no point in publishing a new post just because you feel like it’s mandatory for you to do so. It’s ok to take a break every once in a while, it’s ok to miss a week of posting new content, if your followers/readers are truly dedicated to you and your content then they will stick around and will continue to be a great supporting network, I’ve definitely found that. Don’t feel pressured to publish new content, it’s about quality not quantity when it comes to blog posts and you have to be happy with what you’re publishing online. Not putting that pressure on yourself will eventually help you to come up with ideas that you are completely happy with.

Work on something that isn’t writing

If you’re going through a tough time with thinking of new blog post ideas then try doing something that isn’t related with writing. There are many things that you can do when it comes to your blog that doesn’t involve writing or publishing content but it can make you feel productive when it comes to your blog and can get you out of the sense of feeling guilty for not working on new posts. The little things you can do may include scheduling social media posts, replying to comments on previous blog posts, fixing broken links or giving your blog a little re-vamp whether it be a new header or a completely new design. When it comes to blogging, the work you can do doesn’t always have to include writing, there is so much more to it than that so don’t feel disheartened when you can’t think of any new ideas as there is so much more that you can do that still involves working on your blog.

Read other’s blogs

I find that often one of the best ways to start feeling inspired again is to read blog posts from some of your favourite bloggers or to discover new blogs to read, I always love doing that. Reading content from other people and learning what they’ve been up to might inspire you to create a new post for your own blog.

IMG_2983.jpg

Go to your favourite place

If you have a specific location where you feel happy and inspired then try going there to find some inspiration. I always find that going to my favourite spot allows me to have some much-needed time for myself and it gives me the opportunity to have a think and try to gain some inspiration for things such as new blog content. Don’t go there with the mindset that you have to think of something new whilst you’re there though as that may not help, sometimes the best ideas come when you least expect them to, I find that sometimes that this is the best way of thinking of new and great ideas.

Be kind to yourself

I believe that it’s so important to be kind to yourself when going through a difficult time with your blog or whilst experiencing a spell of bloggers block. Sometimes the best thing to do is to look after yourself before worrying about publishing new content on your blog. Maybe the best thing you can do at times is to take yourself away from anything blogging related but to do that guilt-free. I can assure you that if you have a true passion for blogging then with time you will be itching to get back to it.

That concludes today’s post, I hope you all enjoyed it and I hope it was helpful to some of you.

Have you experienced bloggers block before? If so, leave me a comment below sharing your tips on how to beat it, I would love to hear from you.

Elin x

22 thoughts on “How to beat bloggers block

  1. The first few years (perhaps more than a few) after I started my blog, I was an incredibly sporadic blogger and felt an underlying sense of guilt about it; but I learned, as you have so wisely suggested, to be kind to myself. I love that you are taking that approach to your blogging and hope you do the same in your life; it is something we all need to do. I also love your advice about not blogging just for the sake of it; sometimes a story is worth waiting for. Thank you for your insight.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

